Guess Who’s Birthday It Wasn’t?

Kids are so expressive.

I find sometimes that it’s the “Smash the Cakes” or family portrait sessions that challenge me the most, even over doing day long weddings. I think it’s because for a wedding I can generally take a more “documentary” approach to the day, and capture things as it comes and goes. For children? Kids are awesome, and I’ve met some hilarious kids doing this that make my job easy. But for some sessions I know it’s not going to go too smoothly. I mean, I can weather a full-on-screech with the best of them, especially after teaching swimming lessons to tots and children alike for two years.

Don’t want to swim? Cry away! Parents, pass me the kid anyway. They’ll stop eventually, my ears are immune!

Except this isn’t swimming lessons any more, and while I might be able to shoulder the cries I’m seriously doubting its the red-faced and teary-eyed shots parents are looking to have up over their walls. Logically I’m sure that if I was one years old, told to smash a cake in the sticky grass like it was normal, and ignore the stranger who’s holding up a huge black object that makes weird noises right up in my face, I’d kick up a fuss too. Hence the challenge! And as hard as it is to get the shot they’re looking for, it’s still always worth it. The expressions you manage to get sometimes (intentional or unintentional) are the best.

Much love!

Candace ❤

Leave a Reply

